Posted by: Ann Corcoran | August 2, 2012

Martinsburg, WV Chick-fil-A closed with a bomb threat

I’m often critical of the reporting of the Hagerstown Herald Mail, but was pleased to see today that they accurately covered the Chick-fil-A appreciation day in Hagerstown and reported the bomb threat in Martinsburg.   I had wondered if any local media was covering what had to be the biggest news in town yesterday.  See my previous post.

Here is the Herald Mail:

Crowds of area residents turned out Wednesday for Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day in Hagerstown, braving hectic traffic and lines of hungry customers to support the restaurant’s values and the business’ freedom to express its opinions.

In Martinsburg, W.Va., Chick-Fil-A was evacuated Wednesday afternoon after reportedly receiving a bomb threat that later was determined to be a hoax, the Martinsburg Police Department said.

The day of appreciation was suggested by former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee as a way to counteract boycotts sparked by company President Dan Cathy’s statement that he and Chick-fil-A are “guilty as charged” in opposition to gay marriage. The fast-food chain is known for its “biblically-based principles,” such as its policy of staying closed on Sundays.

“I came out to Chick-fil-A today just to support them, and I just think a lot of times, we don’t speak out when we feel like we should,” said Millie Toms of Hagerstown. “But this is our way of showing it. And I bet you they’ll do a month’s business here in one day.”

Chick-fil-A employees in Hagerstown directed traffic as more and more customers pulled into the fast-food restaurant during Wednesday’s lunchtime rush. The line for food spilled out the door and wrapped around the restaurant, but many patrons said the wait was a cause for celebration, not frustration.

“It’s just been wonderful. I had to sit through five stoplights,” Toms said. “Any other day, that would aggravate me, but today, I was smiling. I thought, ‘I don’t care.’ If this is getting people out and it’s making me wait, I’ll wait here a couple hours if I have to.”

Martinsburg Chick-fil-A lost a few hours of business due to a bomb threat.

The bomb threat at the Martinsburg Chick-fil-A was reported at about 1 p.m.

The male who called in the bomb threat said a device had been placed inside the business at 1005 Foxcroft Ave., but police said no bomb or device was found. Police said the scene was cleared at 3:49 p.m.

Police said in a news release that they have traced the location of the call and are working to identify the person who placed the call.

This time the news editors did a good job, but surely the Herald Mail‘s snarky opinion page writer, Tim Rowland, won’t let this go by and will be penning one of his supposedly humorous attacks on the local populace of Washington County—wait for it.

Sheesh…that didn’t take long, as a matter of fact Rowland wrote about Chick-fil-A BEFORE the event yesterday.  Here he cheers about a new restaurant coming to Valley Mall where scantily clad waitresses will bring you your beer.  Rowland expects the local “Uptight crowd” will be out in opposition.  I highly doubt it.  Funny, I can still remember when Washington County residents were just fine when the mall was closed on Sundays altogether—a practice Chick-fil-A continues today.


Responses

  1. I was all on board with 100% support of Chick Filet’s CEO and his right to free speech until I talked with my daughter in-law this morning. She and I are both very tolerant people who are concerned about doing what Jesus would do. Anyway, she informed me that many Gay’s are upset about the organizations that Chick Filet gives money to. She says some of the groups are fine but others are almost Hate groups. Is this true? More informed dialogue is needed for sure.

    • Lynn, please tell us what those “hate” groups are…I don’t have time to do the research. Please send us a link.


Leave a Reply

Categories

